2013 Mayors’ Bike Ride: A Great Show of Support


Seasonal temperatures made for a great bicycle ride throughout the city of Cedar Rapids on Labor Day, September 2nd.  The 2013 Mayors’ Bike Ride had an estimated 456 participants from several Linn County communities including Cedar Rapids, Marion, Robins, Center Point, Ely Fairfax, Springville, Ely and Hiawatha as well as far away as Wisconsin and Kansas.  Four mayors and eight other elected representatives rode along with the large contingent. This year’s total of registered riders was the largest recorded since LCTA sponsorship of the Mayors’ Bike Ride. The previous highest total was 436 in 2009.

The free, educational bicycle ride is organized annually as an opportunity to showcase the continued need and development for multi-modal transportation networks in Linn County.  For some elected officials, this is an opportunity to experience first-hand what it’s like to be a bicyclist in Linn County.  For bicycle enthusiasts, this is an opportunity to show support for bicycling and the development of trails in Linn County.  In 2013, participants donated $444 towards trail development in Linn County.

Elected officials who were  participants:

Ron J Corbett (Cedar Rapids Mayor)

Kris Gulick (Cedar Rapids Council Member: District 1)

Monica Vernon (Cedar Rapids Council Member: District 2)

Ann Poe (Cedar Rapids Council Member: At Large)

James E. Doyle Jr. (Ely Mayor)

David Rasmussen (Ely City Council Member)

Jason Rabe (Fairfax  Mayor)                                                                                     

Ian Cullis (Robins Mayor)

Roger A. Shebetka (Springville  Council Member)

Liz Mathis (Iowa State Senator: District 34)

Kristen Running-Marquardt ( Iowa State Representative: District 69 )

Joan McCalmant  (Linn County Recorder)

Thank you to everyone who participated in this year’s great ride. It was a great show of support.